Valley West Hawks and the BCMML

     The Valley West Hawks represent one of the eleven teams participating in the British Columbia Major Midget League. The BCMML was established in 2004 to provide elite level 15, 16 and 17 year old players an opportunity to play within their own age group at a high level. The league was also created to further develop these young players as they prepare for junior hockey leagues and beyond.

     In terms of boundaries, the Province of BC is divided up into 11 ‘zones’ that make up the 11 teams within the BCMML league. Players found on the Valley West Hawks roster are comprised of players from the following catchment minor hockey associations: Cloverdale, Delta, Semiahmoo and Surrey. Having players play within their own zone allows our players to play competitive hockey while still living at home and attending their own high school.   

     The Hawks season will consist of 40 regular season games, twelve of those games played out of town during road trips to Prince George, Castlegar, Kelowna, Chase, Nanaimo and Victoria. The Hawks home games will be played within their catchment area of Delta, Surrey and Cloverdale. The top eight teams from the BCMML regular season will advance to the BCMML playoffs in March with the champion facing off against Alberta’s MML playoff winner to determine the Pacific representative for the Telus Cup National Midget Championships.

     The BCMML continues to grow in popularity each year with more and more of our talented players moving on to play competitive hockey at the next level. In the 2010 NHL Entry Draft, 16 former BC Major Midget players were selected by NHL teams. Four of those 16 players were Valley West Hawks Alumni (Kevin Sundher, Austin Madiasky, Alex Theriau and Dylan McKinlay).